Eye On Romance
Search our Site
Community Network
Featured Authors
Contact Us/ Advertising
Follow Us


Click Here to Visit Our Advertiser


Click Here to Visit Our Advertiser Click Here to Visit Our Advertiser Click Here to Visit Our Advertiser Click Here to Visit Our Advertiser
Advertise here

   
     
  Search  
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
     
     
  Browse  
   
   
     
  Add To Site (Free)  
   
   

Click Here to Visit Our Advertiser
Click here to learn more!

Meet
Eye On Romance
Featured Author
...
Nancy Bush

Meet Eye On Romance Featured  Author Nancy Bush
You Can't Escape
Book Reviewer Login
Your Email:

Password:


Forgot Password?
Not a reviewer? Sign up now!

Book Review
Knight in Shining Armor, A
Ratings

Overall: 6
Sensuality: 7
Sub-Genre: 5

Buy at Amazon.com! Buy from Barnes & Noble!

This is a romance community member review

Review for Knight in Shining Armor, A
Author: Jude Deveraux
Date of Review: 02/01/03
Reviewed by: Linerva

Reviewer Comments:

Ok I'm a fan of Jude Deveraux but i really want to contrdict this book. I don't know why but it wasnt all that appealing to me. Maybe it was because of the fact that it wa this going back in time plot that refrained my from reading further.. I don't know.

Yes it's a very touching story but I just can't feel the oomph int he storyline.. It was a little disappointing on my behalf. But if some say that it is good well then by all means go ahead and read it. This is after all only my opinion on the book.



Knight in Shining Armor, A
Ratings

Overall: 8
Sensuality: 7
Sub-Genre: 8

Buy at Amazon.com! Buy from Barnes & Noble!

This is a romance community member review

Review for Knight in Shining Armor, A
Author: Jude Deveraux
Date of Review: 07/08/04
Reviewed by: MaryGrace Meloche

Reviewer Comments:

The beginning of this story is terrific. Of course, every woman’s fantasy is to have a knight in shining armor, so the story’s idea is beautiful. The setup read is quick, heavenly, humorous, and fun! Then the author makes a fumble.

Dougless Montgomery is a modern day woman, but a weak individual. She allows people to walk all over her. She is trying to hold onto a wretched man – a wretched man with a wretched daughter. In a rare moment of strength Dougless disagrees with the obnoxious daughter. The result – Dougless is left behind -- stranded in the English countryside. Heartbroken Dougless breaks down in tears and cries out for a knight in shining armor – presto, Nicholas Stafford, a knight from the sixteenth century appears.

Now Deveraux has great fun with her reader. We explore the twentieth century with Nicholas. Dougless may be a reluctant guide but she is hooked -- hooked on this adorable, handsome man. Of course, Nicholas and Dougless fall deeply in love – a love that has dire consequences. These consequences force our lovers back to the sixteenth century.

Now the reader explores Tudor England with the twosome; however, this exploration is not nearly as amusing. Nicholas Stafford does not remember their initial attraction and the couple is forced to begin anew. The results? The reading becomes long. Nicholas’ denial grows tiresome. When our duo again finds love, Deveraux also takes control. The author now writes some of most romantic words I have ever read -- sigh! Yet this is not a happily-ever-after story. Dougless and Nicholas do not remain together. Deveraux chooses another romance path? Nicholas dies in the sixteenth century and Dougless returns to her time. Still Deveraux does manage to convince her reader -- every woman needs a knight in shining armor!

  • Rating: B (page turner).
  • Sensuality: Warm.

This review is based on the rewrite of the original book published in 1989.
Rewrite Publish date: December 2002.



Knight in Shining Armor, A
Ratings

Overall: 9
Sensuality: 4
Sub-Genre: 8

Buy at Amazon.com! Buy from Barnes & Noble!

This is a romance community member review

Review for Knight in Shining Armor, A
Author: Jude Deveraux
Date of Review: 07/10/05
Reviewed by: erika rivera

Reviewer Comments:

Its the best book from Ms.Deveraux that I've read so far, she did not go about the usual excessive sexual exploration as other historical romance writers do.

I enjoyed further Nicholas' adventure with the heroine. I discovered that the author actually divided the story into sort of two storylines that's why I was quite surprised when the hero finally travels back and never succeeded with his purpose.

The book never delved too much into the sexual aspect of the characters' relationship, that's what pleased me most.

Congratulations to Ms.Deveraux for a job well-done. I hope she would pace her future books similar to A Knight in Shining Armor.

God bless!



Knight in Shining Armor, A
Ratings

Overall: 10
Sensuality: 10
Sub-Genre: 10

Buy at Amazon.com! Buy from Barnes & Noble!

This is a romance community member review

Review for Knight in Shining Armor, A
Author: Jude Deveraux
Date of Review: 10/11/03
Reviewed by: Carrie Oehlerich

Reviewer Comments:

Well I must say, this is one incredible book. I found myself not able to put it down . . read it in less than 4 days! The twists and turns kept me reading and reading. Definitly a book I would recommend to anyone. A delight to read. It made me laugh, cry, and I didn't want it to ever end. It's definitly a book for women to get lost in forever. . . past or present.



Knight in Shining Armor, A
Ratings

Overall: 10
Sensuality: 5
Sub-Genre: 8

Buy at Amazon.com! Buy from Barnes & Noble!

This is a romance community member review

Review for Knight in Shining Armor, A
Author: Jude Deveraux
Date of Review: 01/31/03
Reviewed by: Catherine

Reviewer Comments:

"My soul will find you" - were more beautiful words ever written? I don't think so. What an awesome book - my all time favorite. I love Jude Deveraux and this book is one of the reasons that I have read everything she has ever written. A MUST for any true love of historical romance!



Knight in Shining Armor, A
Ratings

Overall: 10
Sensuality: 8
Sub-Genre: 10

Buy at Amazon.com! Buy from Barnes & Noble!

This is a romance community member review

Review for Knight in Shining Armor, A
Author: Jude Deveraux
Date of Review: 10/20/01
Reviewed by: Susan Charnley

Reviewer Comments:

A Knight in Shining Armor has got to be one of my all time favorite books. Douglass and Nicholas are memorably drawn characters. Nicholas is one of the most believable Elizabethan males I've ever encountered in Literature. Douglass' growth from start to finish of the book is a shining example of where love and the human spirit can take us all. Jude Devereaux's mastery over historical detail and narrative techique sets a standard to which all authors should aspire. A Knight in Shining Armor is a 10+. Essie



Knight in Shining Armor, A
Ratings

Overall: 10
Sensuality: 9
Sub-Genre: 9

Buy at Amazon.com! Buy from Barnes & Noble!

This is a romance community member review

Review for Knight in Shining Armor, A
Author: Jude Deveraux
Date of Review: 05/01/01
Reviewed by: Anonymous

Reviewer Comments:

One of the best Historical Romances ever written, and easily a classic. Ms. Deveraux's writing is what any romance writer aspires to. She weaves a rich and detailed story that satisfies every aspect of a "great read". From indepth characters and history, to a love story you will cry with the heroine over, this one will stay on my shelf forever!



Knight in Shining Armor, A
Ratings

Overall: 10
Sensuality: 10
Sub-Genre: 8

Buy at Amazon.com! Buy from Barnes & Noble!

This is a romance community member review

Review for Knight in Shining Armor, A
Author: Jude Deveraux
Date of Review: 07/20/01
Reviewed by: Teresa Sanders

Reviewer Comments:

Have a box of tissues ready for this one! Jude Deveraux has written an excellent story with this book. I wanted to re-read the book as soon as I finished it and have kept it in a special section of my bookcase for that purpose. The characters, Nicholas and Dougless, were wonderful and their interactions will make you laugh as well as cry. Ms Deveraux was great in weaving current day elements with the historical scenes. I just watched Camelot (the musical) and it reminded me of scenes where Dougless sang songs to the court.



Knight in Shining Armor, A
Ratings

Overall: 10
Sensuality: 9
Sub-Genre: 10

Buy at Amazon.com! Buy from Barnes & Noble!

This is a romance community member review

Review for Knight in Shining Armor, A
Author: Jude Deveraux
Date of Review: 05/03/02
Reviewed by: Danielle

Reviewer Comments:

One of the best!! The transformation of Dougless was totally inspiring. Just goes to show what the power of love, and a few hundred years can do...Nicholas was simply wonderful. A man out of place and time, he carried himself well. A trip to the 21st century was as easy for him as a trip to his 16th century stables. The ending still gives me goose bumps...The plot was original, the characters won my heart, and I can't get over the amazing amout of research that obviously went into this story. Every second spent with Nicholas and Dougless felt like time spent with friends.



Submit your own review for this book!

 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Search Eye On Romance Network
 
 




Dediated Banner

 
   
  Click Here to Visit Our Advertiser